Graffiti House training

Save to Favorites

BRANDY STATION FOUNDATION

Image_202201050951

We are holding a training seminar on the dates listed. We require masks and social distancing.

Upon completion of trading we will be opening the Graffiti House for tours by appointments only in February.
Training will include complete information in the operation of the Graffit House and battlefield information.

Our regular operating hours will begin in March 2022. We hope to be open on Saturdays and Sundays from 11am-4pm.

Join us to learn more about the history of Brandy Station and the Graffiti written in the walls by the Cuvil War soldiers.

More opportunities with BRANDY STATION FOUNDATION

No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.

About BRANDY STATION FOUNDATION

Location:

PO BOX 165, BRANDY STA, VA 22714, US

Mission Statement

The mission of the Brandy Station Foundation is preserving natural and historic resources, especially Civil War resources, and education. Along with other members of the Friends of Culpeper Battlefields, we support a new state park that would include a number of Civil War sites in Culpeper, including the Brandy Station and Cedar Mountain battlefields. The Foundation has been instrumental in the preservation of significant tracts of land related to the Battle of Brandy Station (June 9, 1863) and Kelly’s Ford (March 17, 1863). Together, the American Battlefield Trust and the Brandy Station Foundation have acquired and preserved about 1,400 acres across these two battlefields. Open space and opportunities for outdoor recreation abound here, augmented by the battlefields’ close proximity to the Rappahannock and Rapidan Rivers. The Brandy Station Foundation owns the Graffiti House at 19484 Brandy Road in Brandy Station, which serves as our visitor center and museum.

Description

The Graffiti House is a two-story frame structure, believed to have been built in 1858. Local tradition holds that the building was used as a hospital by both Union and Confederate forces. The walls of the second floor contain inscriptions, drawings, messages, and signatures of Civil War soldiers, hence the name "Graffiti House."

The graffiti was made by soldiers recuperating in the hospital, by other soldiers posted at Brandy Station, or by soldiers passing through the town.

The Battle of Brandy Station began on the morning of June 9, 1863. The battle was in view of the House. Some of the graffiti identified on the walls are from soldiers known to have been wounded in that battle. These troops recovered in the Graffiti House and it was in the aftermath of the battle when these men scrawled their names upon the walls.

The earliest date thus far deciphered (and still present on the Graffiti House walls), is for mid-April of 1863.
Our goal is to share the history of these men, both North and South.

Arts & Culture
Community
Education & Literacy

WHEN

Sat Jan 29, 2022 - Sun Jan 30, 2022
01:00 PM - 04:00 PM

WHERE

19484 Brandy RoadBrandy Station, VA 22714

(38.50253,-77.89074)
 

SKILLS

  • History

GOOD FOR

  • Kids
  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Saturdays and Sundays 11am-4pm

Report this opportunity