BRANDY STATION FOUNDATION

Cause Area

  • Board Development
  • Community
  • Education & Literacy

Location

PO BOX 165BRANDY STA, VA 22714 United States

Organization Information

Mission Statement

The mission of the Brandy Station Foundation is preserving natural and historic resources, especially Civil War resources, and education. Along with other members of the Friends of Culpeper Battlefields, we support a new state park that would include a number of Civil War sites in Culpeper, including the Brandy Station and Cedar Mountain battlefields. The Foundation has been instrumental in the preservation of significant tracts of land related to the Battle of Brandy Station (June 9, 1863) and Kelly’s Ford (March 17, 1863). Together, the American Battlefield Trust and the Brandy Station Foundation have acquired and preserved about 1,400 acres across these two battlefields. Open space and opportunities for outdoor recreation abound here, augmented by the battlefields’ close proximity to the Rappahannock and Rapidan Rivers. The Brandy Station Foundation owns the Graffiti House at 19484 Brandy Road in Brandy Station, which serves as our visitor center and museum.

Description

The Graffiti House is a two-story frame structure, believed to have been built in 1858. Local tradition holds that the building was used as a hospital by both Union and Confederate forces. The walls of the second floor contain inscriptions, drawings, messages, and signatures of Civil War soldiers, hence the name "Graffiti House."

The graffiti was made by soldiers recuperating in the hospital, by other soldiers posted at Brandy Station, or by soldiers passing through the town.

The Battle of Brandy Station began on the morning of June 9, 1863. The battle was in view of the House. Some of the graffiti identified on the walls are from soldiers known to have been wounded in that battle. These troops recovered in the Graffiti House and it was in the aftermath of the battle when these men scrawled their names upon the walls.

The earliest date thus far deciphered (and still present on the Graffiti House walls), is for mid-April of 1863.
Our goal is to share the history of these men, both North and South.

Reviews

Would you recommend BRANDY STATION FOUNDATION?
0 reviews Write a review

Report this organization