During these uncertain times, how can we help?

As the world leader in volunteerism we feel a responsibility to unite our broader community, and to use this moment to become stronger.

See below to access our COVID-19 Resource Hub, and to explore our growing directory of COVID-19-specific and virtual volunteering opportunities.
Read More
 

Quality Artist for Hollywood Food Coalition

Save to Favorites

Hollywood Food Coalition



Organization Name: Hollywood Food Coalition Community Exchange

Organization Website: https://hofoco.org/

Mission and Program Description: The mission of Hollywood Food Coalition is to feed and serve the immediate needs of the hungry every night of the year so they can build better lives. Our vision is a city where everyone has food, community, and support. For 33 years, we have served a hot, nutritious dinner every night of the year to homeless and food insecure individuals. All our food is donated, and we share thousands of pounds of excess food with partner social service organizations all across the city. As an essential service, we have remained open during the COVID-19 crisis and will continue to serve those who struggle to access food for years to come.

Volunteer Roles and Responsibilities:

Inspect produce for mold, rot, decay, or any evidence of pests and repackage sort

Repack produce and/or sort prepared meals that come to us through our retail pick-up program and produce relationships

Make sure the warehouse is clean and orderly

Training will be provided.

Requirements: Must be able to stand for a long time, some lifting and take direction. Our minimum age to volunteer without adult supervision for any activity is 15.

Dress Code: Due to safety concerns appropriate to work in a warehouse environment. Comfortable, closed-toed safe footwear, long pants No sleeveless shirts or tank tops allowed. Leave purses, jewelry and other valuables at home or locked in your trunk. Necklaces and long earrings are not safe in the warehouse.

Location: Hollywood Food Coalition Community Exchange

58 Shifts Available spots are approximations

  • Mon Apr 12, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Apr 13, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 14, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Apr 15, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Apr 16, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Apr 19, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Apr 20, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 21, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Apr 22, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Apr 23, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Apr 26, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Apr 27, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 28, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Apr 29, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Apr 30, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon May 03, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue May 04, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 05, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu May 06, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri May 07, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon May 10, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue May 11, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 12, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu May 13, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri May 14, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon May 17, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue May 18, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 19, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu May 20, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri May 21, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon May 24, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue May 25, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 26, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu May 27, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri May 28, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon May 31, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Jun 01, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 02, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Jun 03, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Jun 04, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Jun 07, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Jun 08, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 09, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Jun 10, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Jun 11, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Jun 14, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Jun 15, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 16, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Jun 17, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Jun 18, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Jun 21, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Jun 22, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 23, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Thu Jun 24, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Fri Jun 25, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Mon Jun 28, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Tue Jun 29, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 30, 2021 - 11:30 AM to 04:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
More Shifts

5 More opportunities with Hollywood Food Coalition

13 Reviews

About Hollywood Food Coalition

Location:

5939 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90028, US

Mission Statement

The mission of Hollywood Food Coalition is to feed and serve the immediate needs of the hungry every night of the year so they can build better lives. Our vision is a city where everyone has food, community, and support. For 33 years, we have served a hot, nutritious dinner every night of the year to homeless and food insecure individuals. All our food is donated, and we share thousands of pounds of excess food with partner social service organizations all across the city.

Description

We serve upwards of 300+ people dinner every night of the year. Have done for over 30 years. No one is turned away. We get donated food, picked up by volunteer and staff drivers, and because of the Covid-19 outbreak have had to change our model from sit-down dinners indoors to handing out bags of food in "to-go," containers. We also distribute any excess food to other organizations that have no way to access donated food. We PREP the food (main course, (vegan and non) green salads, fruit salads, desserts, soups, drinks, and extra "later on" food...most of our guests are homeless). Then we SERVE the food. WE NEED VOLUNTEERS TO PREP THE FOOD AND SERVE THE FOOD. We provide masks, gloves (changed often), disposable aprons, a brief orientation when you arrive. We sanitize our environment every hour. We are wholly aware for the need of work-place safety so if any volunteer doesn't feel well, we ask them to stay home and come back when they are 100%. We are the only nightly dinner freely served in Hollywood and our guest counts have surged due to the the shutdown of many food stores, restaurants and bars and farmer's markets. WE NEED VOLUNTEERS TO HELP US. We only need 6 to 10 per shift.

Community
Homeless & Housing
Hunger

WHEN

Mon Apr 12, 2021 - Wed Jun 30, 2021
11:30 AM - 04:00 PM   This opportunity has 58 shifts

WHERE

Los Angeles, CA 90028

(34.10122,-118.32574)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity