The Port Huron Museum celebrates the history and culture of the Blue Water Area and fosters an appreciation of other peoples and places. Through exhibitions, education and public programs, the Museum inspires knowledge of the past, participation in the present and an imagination for the future.
- Adopted December 13, 2006
A Brief History
The Port Huron Museum of Arts and History was founded in 1967, and through a community-wide volunteer effort, opened its doors in 1968. Housed in an historic Carnegie Library, built in 1904, the Museum provides exhibitions and programs relating to local history, fine arts (with an emphasis on regional art), decorative arts, natural history, and Great Lakes marine lore.
The Museum is the only year-round, multi-disciplinary cultural institution in Michigan's Thumb Area, a five-county area. The Museum began as a completely volunteer-operated organization, and now employs a staff of eight full-time and two part-time personnel, and seasonal part-time staff during the summer months. Volunteers are the backbone of the institution. Over 44,000 volunteer hours were logged in 2003 for a wide variety of special events, classes, programs, exhibitions, and outreach services. In addition to serving our own community, the Museum is recognized throughout the State of Michigan and nationally as a center for research in folk arts, archeology, and Great Lakes maritime history.
In 1990, the Museum opened its first off-site facility at the Huron Lightship, a National Historic Landmark now located in our nearby waterfront park. In 2001, the Museum opened its second satellite facility, the Thomas Edison Depot Museum, to interpret the early life of Thomas Edison in Port Huron. The new museum is housed in the historic railroad station where Edison was employed, and it is based on some 19 years of archeological research sponsored by our institution. In 2002, the Museum completed a new strategic planning process entitled "Museum for a New Millennium," which will guide its institutional growth in the coming years. The Fort Gratiot Lighthouse, became the Museum's fourth satellite site in 2010.