Here's a sample of our volunteer opportunities:VIEW AS
To preserve, restore and operate the farm as an historical, educational and recreational resourse to serve the general public as a museum, education center, and recreational park"
(To be revised this year)
The Dudley Farm was built by Erastus Dudley (1781-1872) on land originally parceled out to the first settlers of Guilford. North Guilford, previously known as "Cohabit", saw the North Guilford Congregational Church and the first homes built in the 1720’s, the result of farmers becoming tired of traveling to North Guilford to farm, and then to Guilford to make sure they got to church. Some of these very early homes can still be seen - The Ebenezer Scranton house was built on Hoop Pole Road in 1723, but in the early 20 th century was disassembled and moved to Duck Hole Road. The Deacon Simeon Chittenden house was built in 1740, and is located at 234 Lake Drive.
But "Dudleyville" included not only the home built by Erastus, and later added onto by his son Nathan and Nathan’s wife Sophronia (Bartlett), but also included Nathan’s brothers and their families. It was an area of prestige and influence.
David Dudley was the last of his family to live here and farm this land. After his passing in 1991, the North Guilford Volunteer Fire Company, in cooperation with the North Guilford Congregational Church and the Town of Guilford Probate Court, obtained the Farm property. Lamenting the disappearance of farm life in the face of the rapid development of the late 20th century, the Volunteer Fire Company decided to establish a farm museum to preserve the region's agricultural heritage. Thus was born the Dudley Foundation, a nonprofit, member supported organization that maintains, through the work of volunteers, the Dudley Farm as a late 19th century farm museum. The restored farm house, barns and grounds allow visitors to experience life as it once was.
Do you work for this organization?
Request administrator status and update its information!