• Alameda County Resource Conservation District Alameda County Resource Conservation District


  • Interest area icon
  • Interest area icon

Volunteer with us!

Subscribe Get an RSS feed of these Opportunities
Please wait . . .

Mission Statement

The mission of the Alameda County Resource Conservation District is to provide leadership in the County and region about natural resources conservation and agricultural enhancement through partnerships, education, outreach, resource services, technical assistance, and funding."


Resource Conservation Districts (RCDs) are independent, non-regulatory, special districts of California. They are authorized by Division 9 of the California Public Resources Code to provide resource conservation leadership within district boundaries. They are locally governed agencies with their own appointed, independent boards of directors . RCDs enable USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service to provide Farm Bill cost-share programs and other technical assistance for local landowners and users. RCDs are empowered to conserve and to enhance agricultural and natural resources within their districts on public and private lands, to educate their constituents and to collaborate with other organizations to achieve their missions.

The ACRCD benefits from a small property tax base generated within its boundaries. Income generated from grant and contract projects provide the remainder of this district’s revenue. The ACRCD does not include northern Alameda County. It reflects the agricultural lands of 1972 and excludes the northern urban areas and the 1972 downtowns of Pleasanton and Livermore.

Nationally formed in response to the Dust Bowl crisis of the 1930's, conservation districts were directed to act as the local counterparts to the federal agency, the Soil Conservation Service. These districts were meant to be more responsive to local conditions and issues than a large centralized agency could be. Over the years, hundreds of districts sprang up all over California, including two in Alameda County (Eastern Alameda County Soil Conservation District in 1946 and Western Alameda County Soil Conservation District in 1955). The two districts merged in 1972 and became the Alameda County Resource Conservation District.


Would you recommend Alameda County Resource Conservation District?