Macculloch Hall Historical Museum preserves the history of the Macculloch-Miller family and their community in and around the Morris area, and the legacy of its founder W. Parsons Todd, through the historic site, collection, exhibits, educational and cultural programs. The Museum is a non-profit educational affiliate of the W. Parsons Todd Foundation.
Located in downtown Morristown, N.J., Macculloch Hall has been part of the local community for over 200 years, first as the home to community-minded residents, George and Louisa Macculloch (1775-1858, 1785-1863), and since 1950, as a not-for-profit museum and garden. Founder W. Parsons Todd (1877-1976) endowed MHHM as a resource for all Morristown and Morris County residents. A Federal brick mansion, Macculloch Hall was built in 1810 by George Perrott Macculloch (1775-1858), the "Father of the Morris Canal." Today this historic house and decorative arts museum comprises nine period rooms, two exhibition galleries, a dedicated classroom, and an expansive formal garden, which is open to the public free of charge.
Garden History and Highlights
First planted in 1810 by George and Louisa Macculloch (1775-1858, 1785-1863), gardens on MHHM’s grounds have been in continuous cultivation for more than 200 years. Cultivars in this historic garden include the wisteria trellised along the rear porch, given to the Macculloch family by Commodore Matthew Perry in 1857; the sassafras tree at the far end of the lawn, believed to be the second oldest and largest sassafras tree in New Jersey; and the more than 65 varieties of heirloom roses, with cultivars dating to before 1920. Two varieties of roses, known only as "Old Macculloch Hall Roses", likely date to the earliest part of the garden’s history.