• Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District


  • Interest area icon
  • Interest area icon
  • Interest area icon

Volunteer with us!

Subscribe Get an RSS feed of these Opportunities
Please wait . . .

Mission Statement

The Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District encompasses sections of Gem Lake, Landfall, Little Canada, Maplewood, North St. Paul, Oakdale, Roseville, St. Paul, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, White Bear Lake and Woodbury. The District works to protect and improve local water quality and natural resources.


What is the Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District?

The Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District (RWMWD) is a special purpose governmental unit responsible for protecting the water resources of the watershed, located in the eastern portion of Ramsey County and the western edge of Washington County, Minnesota. The District was established in 1975 under the Minnesota Watershed District Act. More information on the Minnesota Watershed Act and watershed District authorities is available on the Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) web site. The Watershed Act recognizes that water resources are best managed on a watershed scale and that hydrological boundaries rarely match political boundaries, so it established watershed districts to integrate water management efforts between city, county and state agencies.The Watershed Act provides Districts with planning, regulatory and taxing authority to carry out their purposes.

RWMWD covers approximately 65 square miles that ultimately drain into the Mississippi River. The watershed includes seven small watersheds that each drain to the Mississippi River; the Phalen Chain of Lakes, Beaver Lake, Beltline Interceptor, Battle Creek, Fish Creek, Grass Lake and the Blufflands area.There are 5 major creeks, 18 lakes and hundreds of wetlands within the RWMWD.

The RWMWD also includes all or part of 12 cities in Ramsey and Washington Counties: These cities include St. Paul, Woodbury, Oakdale, Landfall, North St. Paul, Maplewood, Little Canada, White Bear Lake, Vadnais Heights, Gem Lake, Shoreview and Roseville.

A five-member Board of Managers governs the RWMWD; four are appointed by the Ramsey County Board and one by the Washington County Board. As required by state law, the RWMWD has developed a comprehensive watershed management plan that describes the existing water resources and water-related problems within the watershed, possible solutions to the problems and the objectives of the RWMWD. The plan sets forth the goals and direction of the RWMWD.This plan is available for download on this web site.Click on the link provided on the home page or the one above.


Would you recommend Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District?