Here's a sample of our volunteer opportunities:VIEW AS
The Preservation Mifflinburg, Inc. (hereinafter PMI or the Gutelius House Museum) is a not-for-profit educational institutuion founded in 1997. PMI's mission is to care for, preserve and interpret for the public the Gutelius House. PMI fulfills this mission by collecting, preserving, exhibiting and interpreting the history of the Gutelius House and the Gutelius family (with an emphasis on the period 1802-1890) and offering tours and public educational programs designed to celebrate and preserve the history of the Gutelius House and the Gutelius family as well as enhance the branding of Historic Mifflinburg as "Buggy Town."
Frederick and Anna Catherine (Bistel) Gutelius came to Mifflinburg from Lancaster County in 1802. They built a log home on the corner of 5th and Green Streets in 1803.
Frederick was a blacksmith, a surveyor, a Justice of the Peace, a founder of the Reformed Church, and one of the first Union County Commissioners.
Anna and Frederick were the parents of eleven sons and four daughters. Their son John Frederick became a noted weaver. Three of their grandsons became buggy makers.