" The mission of the Old Stone House Museum (Orleans Historical Society) is to stimulate public interest and foster public understanding regarding history and 19th century life in a hill village, with emphasis on Orleans County Grammar School and the life of Alexander Twilight and Samuel R Hall."
To preserve and protect Old Stone House and the Brownington Historic District.
To collect, preserve artifacts & documents of the region.
To develop education programs on regional culture and history.
The Old Stone House Museum founded in 1917, maintains six historic buildings, a large collection of artifacts, documents and images from early 19th to early 20th century. Our current emphasis is the life and agricultural traditions of northern Vermont.
We also preserve skills and educate visitors and the community about them.
Educational programs are offered for adults, students & families with classes at the museum, living history activities, a history camp, school outreach programs & gallery talks. We demonstrate a 19th century Kitchen Garden, grain field, orchard and a native American garden patch using historic methods and tools.
This museum's core is the first academy founded in northern Vermont. Its famous headmasters were first African American college graduate and legislator in the U.S., Alexander Twilight & Samuel R. Hall, an educational reformer known for establishing the first teacher training schools.