Here's a sample of our volunteer opportunities:VIEW AS
It is the mission of the Dublin Heritage Center to collect, preserve and interpret the material culture of Dublin to provide an historical and cultural focal point that will enrich the community. The mission shall be accomplished through collections, the Original Murray School House, Old Saint Raymond's Church, the Pioneer Cemetery and theKolb Buildings. The mission shall further be accomplished through temporary exhibits that reflect a broad scope of topics, programs that relate to Dublin and its history, and by encouraging the preservation of other historic sites in Dublin.
The new Heritage Park and Museums combines the existing "Dublin Heritage Center" with an additional 4.3 acres of park and historic buildings from the Kolb farm. Born in Bavaria in 1866, George Kolb came to America, made his way west and purchased Dublin's general store in 1894. George married Wilhelmina Hartung in 1896 and they lived in a little cottage behind the General Store. In 1899 the couple welcomed their first child, Edwin, and their second, Harold, was born in 1900.
In 1905, George purchased 350 acres that extended from Dublin's "downtown" to what is now Bernal Avenue (then Dublin). The family lived in a small house (the old house) until their Craftsman Bungalow was completed in 1911. Both Edwin and Harold attended the Murray School and learned about ranching and farming at home. Generations of Kolbs have helped to establish Dublin's first library, school boards, churches and worked to incorporate Dublin. The Dublin Heritage Center has told the story of Dublin's Irish settlers, who arrived in 1846, built the Murray School, St. Raymond Church and the General Store. The addition of the Kolb buildings expands that story to include German settlers that arrived in the 1880s, as told through the life and times of the Kolbs.
- Elizabeth Isles
- Need admin access?
Do you work for this organization?
Request administrator status and update its information!