Lee Hall Depot
- Arts & Culture
- Children & Youth
- Education & Literacy
Locationc/o Lee Hall Mansion163 Yorktown RoadNewport News, VA 23603 United States
The Historic Services Division enhances quality of life for Newport News residents and visitors by interpreting and preserving the City’s historic resources, fostering community engagement, and connecting Newport News to the broader context of American history.
Lee Hall Depot was erected circa 1881 on the Chesapeake & Ohio rail line. The depot gave rise to the village of Lee Hall. A wood Stick-style building consisting of a two-story central section flanked by single-story wings, the depot also served communities in lower James City County. It is the only remaining station of five on the Lower Virginia Peninsula that resulted from the railroad’s expansion into Warwick County (present-day Newport News). Passenger service at the station ended in the late 1970s, and in 2008 CSX (formerly C&O Railroad) donated the depot to the City of Newport News. The City relocated the building across the tracks to prevent its demolition. The Depot is expected to open to the public as a museum in April 2021.