The Canton Historical Museum, located in the Collinsville section of Canton, CT, is looking for people who would like to become a Tour Guide (Docent) or Greeter for 1 or 2 times per month for 3 hours each time.
The Museum has history about the Collins Axe Factory, Victorian and Civil War items and a Railroad Diorama.
It's a great opportunity for those that love history and those that would like to know more. Tour Guides and Greeters will be trained and given comprehensive written instructions. You do not need to know everything about every object in the Museum, but you will enjoy the people and the great collection that the Canton Historical Museum has to offer.
We are also looking for Greeters, who can greet people coming in for a tour and handle admission payments and help out with the Gift Shop if necessary.
This Museum is the best kept secret in the Farmington Valley!
No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.
About Canton Historical Society
11 Front Street, Canton, CT 06019, US
To provide an assembly of people who are interested in the history and growth of the Town of Canton and the community of Collinsville, and its environs, in order that, through their cooperative efforts, there may be a better understanding and appreciation of the history, heritage, culture, and environment of this area.
To receive, hold, maintain, discover, collect, acquire, display, and exhibit material objects relating to the above pursuits.
To secure, preserve, conserve, and interpret the Museum's historical collection, and historic buildings, monuments and markers in the furtherance and not in limitation of the above purposes to do any and all things not in contravention of the laws of the State of Connecticut.
The Canton Historical Museum is housed on 3 floors in a large former Collins Company Axe Factory building and has a very large collection of Collins Company axes, machetes and other edge tools. The Collins Company was in existence from 1826 - 1966 and the former factory buildings are rented by a variety of mixed-use tenants. The Museum also features many items from the Victorian and Civil War Era, including a Bridal Room, Barber Shop, General Store, and a large amount of agricultural tools. The Farmington Valley Railroad Society operates a railroad diorama. There is a research and genealogical library and a gift shop. The library also has a large collection of photographs, many taken in the early 1900's and photos of the 1955 Flood, which caused a lot of damage to Collinsville and the factory buildings. The Museum is open from 1-4 p.m. Wednesday - Sunday from April - November and from 1-4 p.m. from December to March on Saturdays and Sundays only. The Museum has Open Houses several times a year and puts on a series of lectures during the Winter months at the Community Center on Dyer Avenue. Go to: www.cantonmuseum.org for more information.