• A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
 

Academic Mentor

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: I Have A Dream Foundation - Dallas

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
image_20240614094413

The purpose of an Academic Mentor is to support Dreamer Scholars in developing trusting relationships with adults. Academic Mentors provide small group and/or one-on-one tutoring, with a focus on collaborative skill-building and fun!

Primary Responsibilities: Academic Mentors report to the Mentor Coordinator. Mentors are expected to:

● Meet attendance requirements for a minimum of one academic year

○ Elementary School: one hour per week

○ Middle School: two hours per month

○ High School: one hour per month

● Participate in initial and ongoing training with qualified educators or consultants

● Adhere to the Volunteer Code of Conduct

● Provide feedback about your mentoring experience

Qualifications:

● Must be 18+ years old

● Must be employed, retired, or a student

● Must pass all IHDF screening requirements

● Must have established residency for at least 3 months

● Bilingual (English and Spanish) highly recommended but not required

Benefits of Mentoring:

Research from the Chronicle of Evidence Based Mentoring shows that youth with mentors are more likely to:

● Have a positive attitude about school

● Have higher expectations for academic success

● Perform better in school

● Be more socially successful

● Have higher incomes

Consider Applying as an Academic Mentor if:

● You are passionate about academic success

● You have experience as a tutor or educator

● You enjoy working within a school setting

● You are interested in gaining experience in education

● You love to learn!

90 Shifts

  • Tue Jul 16, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 9
  • Thu Jul 18, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jul 23, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jul 25, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jul 30, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Aug 01, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Aug 06, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Aug 08, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Aug 13, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Aug 15, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Aug 20, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Aug 22, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Aug 27, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Aug 29, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Sep 03, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Sep 05, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Sep 10, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Sep 12, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Sep 17, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Sep 19, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Sep 24, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Sep 26, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Oct 01, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Oct 03, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Oct 08, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Oct 10, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Oct 15, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Oct 17, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Oct 22, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Oct 24, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Oct 29, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Oct 31, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Nov 05, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Nov 07, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Nov 12, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Nov 14, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Nov 19, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Nov 21, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Nov 26, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Nov 28, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Dec 03, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Dec 05, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Dec 10, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Dec 12, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Dec 17, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Dec 19, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Dec 24, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Dec 26, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Dec 31, 2024 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jan 02, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jan 07, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jan 09, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jan 14, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jan 16, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jan 21, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jan 23, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Jan 28, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Jan 30, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Feb 04, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Feb 06, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Feb 11, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Feb 13, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Feb 18, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Feb 20, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Feb 25, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Feb 27, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Mar 04, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Mar 06, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Mar 11, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Mar 13, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Mar 18, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Mar 20, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Mar 25, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Mar 27, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Apr 01, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Apr 03, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Apr 08, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Apr 10, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Apr 15, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Apr 17, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Apr 22, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu Apr 24, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue Apr 29, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu May 01, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue May 06, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu May 08, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue May 13, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu May 15, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Tue May 20, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
  • Thu May 22, 2025 - 03:30 PM to 05:30 PM CST - Spots available: 10+
More Shifts

1 More opportunity with I Have A Dream Foundation - Dallas

Request failed
{{ opp.title }}
This is a Virtual Opportunity.
{{ opp.location }}
We'll work with your schedule
{{ opp.dateStr }}
{{ opp.timeStr }}
More
Opportunities

About I Have A Dream Foundation - Dallas

Location:

3210 Inwood Rd, Dallas, TX 75235, US

Mission Statement

The "I Have A Dream" Foundation's mission is to empower children from under-resourced communities to succeed in school, college, and career by providing academic, social, and emotional support from elementary school through college, along with postsecondary tuition assistance.

Description

At the "I Have A Dream" Foundation, we provide individualized social, emotional, and academic support to young people from under-resourced communities, along with guaranteed tuition support for the post-secondary path of their dreams. From first grade to a first job, we stand by our Dreamers.

We empower young people to dream their most ambitious dreams and ignite their innate potential to achieve.

The "I Have A Dream" Foundation works to ensure that all children have the opportunity to pursue higher education, fulfill their potential, and achieve their dreams. We empower children ("Dreamers") in under-served communities to graduate from high school by equipping them with the skills and knowledge to succeed in the postsecondary path of their choice, along with guaranteed tuition support to remove financial barriers. Dreamers are not only empowered to choose the academic and life trajectory most fulfilling for them, their success has a broader impact on their families and the generations that follow.

IHDF works with Dreamers after school, on the weekends, and over the summer for over ten years, developing long-term relationships with Dreamers and their families. We provide academic and social emotional support to Dreamers, equipping them with the confidence and life skills needed to pursue their most ambitious dreams.

CAUSE AREAS

Children & Youth
Community
Education & Literacy
Children & Youth, Community, Education & Literacy

WHEN

Tue Sep 03, 2024 - Fri May 23, 2025
This opportunity has 90 shifts

WHERE

3120 Inwood RoadDallas, TX 75235

(32.82624,-96.82936)
 

SKILLS

  • General Education
  • Tutoring
  • Mentoring
  • English as a Secondary Language (ESL)
  • Relationship Building
  • Child Development

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Background Check
  • Orientation or Training
  • At least 1 hour per week
  • Fingerprinting required. Please complete a Mentor + Safety Application here: https://www.tfaforms.com/5104051

Report this opportunity