• A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
 

Therapeutic Recreation Assistant

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: The New Jewish Home, Manhattan Division

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
Image_202204210733

Volunteer Opportunity with The New Jewish Home: Therapeutic Recreation Assistant

Organization Name: The New Jewish Home

Title: Therapeutic Recreation Assistant

Duties:

  1. Mondays: Assist residents by taking them to the garden or off their unit to play word games together. Timing is flexible to fit your schedule.
  2. Wednesday Mornings: From 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM, help residents with nail care and spend quality time visiting with them.
  3. Summer Afternoons: Any afternoon after 1 PM, take residents on floors FD2 and SU4 to the garden to enjoy the sunshine and fresh air.

Description:
The New Jewish Home is seeking compassionate and dedicated volunteers to enhance the lives of our residents as a Therapeutic Recreation Assistant. This role is perfect for individuals who enjoy working with older adults and are looking to make a meaningful impact in their community.

Your primary responsibilities will include engaging residents in various activities that promote social interaction and well-being. On Mondays, you'll have the flexibility to choose a time that works for you to take residents to the garden or play word games. Wednesday mornings will be dedicated to providing nail care and visiting with residents, fostering personal connections. Additionally, during the summer months, you can spend afternoons taking residents from FD2 and SU4 to the garden, offering them a delightful change of scenery.

If you are enthusiastic about making a difference and have a few hours to spare each week, we would love to hear from you! Join us in creating a vibrant and supportive community for our residents. Please contact us at cmberrios@jewishhome.org to learn more and apply.

Thank you for considering this rewarding volunteer opportunity with The New Jewish Home!

84 Shifts

  • Tue Jun 18, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jun 19, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jun 19, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jun 20, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jun 21, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jun 24, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jun 24, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jun 25, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jun 26, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jun 26, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jun 27, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jun 28, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jul 01, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jul 01, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jul 02, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jul 03, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jul 03, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jul 04, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jul 05, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jul 08, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jul 08, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jul 09, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jul 10, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jul 10, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jul 11, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jul 12, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jul 15, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jul 15, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jul 16, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jul 17, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jul 17, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jul 18, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jul 19, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jul 22, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jul 22, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jul 23, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jul 24, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jul 24, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Jul 25, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Jul 26, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Jul 29, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Jul 29, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Jul 30, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Jul 31, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Jul 31, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Aug 01, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Aug 02, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Aug 05, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Aug 05, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Aug 06, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Aug 07, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Aug 07, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Aug 08, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Aug 09, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Aug 12, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Aug 12, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Aug 13, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Aug 14, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Aug 14, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Aug 15, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Aug 16, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Aug 19, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Aug 19, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Aug 20, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Aug 21, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Aug 21, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Aug 22, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Aug 23, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Aug 26, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Aug 26, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Aug 27, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Aug 28, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Aug 28, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Aug 29, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Aug 30, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Sep 02, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Mon Sep 02, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Tue Sep 03, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Wed Sep 04, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
  • Wed Sep 04, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Thu Sep 05, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Fri Sep 06, 2024 - 01:00 PM to 06:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Summer Afternoons
  • Mon Sep 09, 2024 - 10:00 AM to 05:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    Mondays
  • Wed Sep 11, 2024 - 10:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 5
    Wednesday
More Shifts

3 More opportunities with The New Jewish Home, Manhattan Division

Request failed
{{ opp.title }}
This is a Virtual Opportunity.
{{ opp.location }}
We'll work with your schedule
{{ opp.dateStr }}
{{ opp.timeStr }}
More
Opportunities

About The New Jewish Home, Manhattan Division

Location:

120 West 106th Street, New York, NY 10025, US

Mission Statement

MISSION Our mission is to empower older adults to enhance purpose and well-being through a portfolio of innovative health care services. VISION Our vision is a new reality in which ageism is no longer, and society embraces its older adult members. VALUES Extend Welcome, Embrace Diversity, Affirm Dignity, Respect One Another, Embody Compassion, Increase Knowledge, and Pursue Justice

Description

The New Jewish Home is a comprehensive, mission-driven nonprofit health care system serving older New Yorkers since 1848. We’ve been a New York eldercare landmark for over 170 years, and we’re still creating innovative new ways to serve seniors every day as we welcome all elders to #AgeLikeaNewYorker with us.

We are a nonprofit that provides care for the evolving needs of New Yorkers as they age, from the very frailest to those who just need a little extra help in managing chronic conditions at home. Let us help you and your family figure out exactly what kind of care you or your loved ones need.

CAUSE AREAS

Community
People with Disabilities
Seniors
Community, People with Disabilities, Seniors

WHEN

Fri Jun 14, 2024 - Thu Sep 12, 2024
08:00 AM -
This opportunity has 84 shifts

WHERE

120 West 106th StreetNew York, NY 10025

(40.79937,-73.96413)
 

SKILLS

  • Elder care
  • People Skills
  • Relationship Building

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Background Check
  • Must be at least 16
  • Orientation or Training
  • 3-7 Hours

Report this opportunity