• A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
 

Avian Reconditioning Center Volunteer

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: Avian Reconditioning Center

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
image_20240525163019

We have many volunteer opportunities at the Avian Reconditioning Center (ARC) and provide hands-on training with birds of prey for dedicated volunteers. In addition to helping raptors in rehabilitation, we provide education programs to the Central Florida community. Volunteers may expect to learn about native species of raptors and gain experience in the care and management of birds of prey. Prior experience is not required to volunteer at ARC! We welcome those 14 years of age and older to volunteer. Minors may volunteer with the conditions below: -A parent or guardian must remain on ARC property at all times during a minor's volunteer shift. -Volunteer times are a minimum of three hours. -Minor volunteers must be off ARC property by 4pm. -Minor volunteers must be approved by ARC's Volunteer Coordinator. Volunteer workdays are typically: -Wednesdays and Fridays, 9:30am to 12:30pm

29 Shifts

  • Fri Jun 14, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jun 15, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jun 19, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jun 21, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jun 22, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jun 26, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jun 28, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jun 29, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jul 03, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jul 05, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jul 06, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jul 10, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jul 12, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jul 13, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jul 17, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jul 19, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jul 20, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jul 24, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Jul 26, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Jul 27, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Jul 31, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Aug 02, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Aug 03, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Aug 07, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Aug 09, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Aug 10, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
  • Wed Aug 14, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Wednesday
  • Fri Aug 16, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Friday
  • Sat Aug 17, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Volunteer Day - Saturday
More Shifts

More opportunities with Avian Reconditioning Center

No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.

About Avian Reconditioning Center

Location:

323 W Lester Rd, Apopka, FL 32712, US

Mission Statement

The Avian Reconditioning Center is dedicated to preserving birds of prey through public education, raptor rehabilitation, falconry and research. Our specialized facilities allow for a more natural and complete reconditioning of recuperating and fledgling birds, increasing thier chances of survival once returned to the wild.

Description

Located on 10 acres in Apopka Fl our center uses large outside enclosures to allow the physical reconditioning and natural weatherproofing while having limited human contact.

Our education programs are given both on and off site using live birds of prey. We are open to the public on Saturdays for educational displays and falconry flight demonstrations.

Our facility has several flight cages, education mews as well as several out buildings including an educational enhancement classroom, live prey area and gift shop.

CAUSE AREAS

Animals
Community
Environment
Animals, Community, Environment

WHEN

Wed May 29, 2024 - Sat Aug 24, 2024
09:00 AM - 01:00 PM
This opportunity has 29 shifts

WHERE

323 W Lester RdApopka, FL 32712

(28.71541,-81.51329)
 

SKILLS

  • Veterinary
  • Environmental Education
  • Animal Care / Handling
  • Environmental Science
  • Carpentry
  • Woodworking

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 14
  • Orientation or Training
  • 3hrs
  • We welcome those 14 years of age and older to volunteer. Minors ages 14 through 17 may volunteer with a parent or guardian present on property. Liability and media consent waiver must be signed before volunteering.

Report this opportunity