SAINT STEPHEN'S PRODUCE DISTRIBUTION

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: St. Stephens Episcopal Church



QUICK OVERVIEW

Be the change by participating in weekly produce distribution at St. Stephen's Episcopal Church in Hollywood.



ORGANIZATIONAL OVERVIEW

Our produce distribution program is powered by a group of dedicated volunteers. Since March 2020, the Saint Stephen's community has worked tirelessly to provide hundreds of families with fresh, healthy foods. Food insecurity is a constant challenge in the greater Los Angeles area. Our community, in collaboration with Seeds of Hope and Food Forward, shows up each week to alleviate some of the ever-growing needs.

IMPACT

Our work is challenging, demanding, and highly rewarding. The immediacy and importance of a need as basic as the food to feed one's family mean that our volunteers are making an unfiltered connection with those we serve, and directly impact their lives.



VOLUNTEER ROLES AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Every Wednesday, volunteers can gather in the alley next to St. Stephen's, starting at 9:30 AM, to prepare family-size servings of fresh fruit, produce, and other foodstuffs. There is no prior signup required, just show up and introduce yourself!



At 10:30 AM, once the prep is complete, we hand out the packages among community members on a first-come, first-served basis. Volunteers are a huge aid in every step of the process. From sorting produce through assembling and handing out packages to the last moments of cleanup, you will have ample opportunity to help.



REQUIREMENTS

There are no requirements for this opportunity, apart from a large amount of motivation and willingness to put the work in.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

This is an outdoor event, so be sure to prepare for the given weather conditions of the day. Volunteers are provided with water and there is ample shade, but the California noonday sun is still a consideration. Volunteers also have an opportunity to take home unclaimed packages and leftovers at the end of the day.



ACCESSIBILITY

The event is accessible to all volunteers. Differently abled volunteers and volunteers with any special considerations will be accommodated. Just let us know what you need! Hablamos espaol tambin!



QUESTIONS? Contact us at mate@saintbe.org

All volunteers participating in this volunteer opportunity should adhere to the health and safety guidelines outlined here: https://volunteer.laworks.com/health-and-safety.

53 Shifts
Available spots are approximations

All shifts have expired
  • Wed Jun 26, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 19, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 12, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jun 05, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 29, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 22, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 8
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 15, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 08, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed May 01, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 24, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 17, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 10, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Apr 03, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Mar 27, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Mar 20, 2024 - 09:00 AM to 11:00 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Mar 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Mar 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Feb 28, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Feb 21, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Feb 14, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Feb 07, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jan 31, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jan 24, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jan 17, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jan 10, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jan 03, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Dec 27, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 8
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Dec 20, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 6
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Dec 13, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 8
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Dec 06, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Nov 29, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 7
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Nov 22, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 7
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Nov 15, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 7
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Nov 08, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Nov 01, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Oct 25, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Oct 18, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Oct 11, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Oct 04, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Sep 27, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Sep 20, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Sep 13, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Sep 06, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 30, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 23, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 23, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 16, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 09, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Aug 02, 2023 - 09:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jul 26, 2023 - 09:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jul 26, 2023 - 09:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jul 19, 2023 - 09:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
  • Wed Jul 12, 2023 - 09:30 AM to 11:30 AM PST - Spots available: 5
    Los Angeles CA 90028 US
More Shifts

More opportunities with St. Stephens Episcopal Church

1 Review

No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.

About St. Stephens Episcopal Church

Location:

6125 Carlos Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028, US

Mission Statement

St. Stephen's is a different kind of church. It's a place where we take the concept of community seriously - a place not to retreat from the pressures or turmoil of life but to be actively engaged in a comunidad de base - priesthood of all believers. This is not a place where the congregation is called simply to sing and listen. It's a unique, diverse, inclusive community that will encourage and inspire you to think deeply, reflect critically, and communicate openly. No matter who you are, who you love, what you look like, or what you believe, you're welcome to join the conversation and the community at St. Stephen's. Here, all voices are heard and identities are affirmed. We embrace and celebrate the LGBTQ+ community, proclaim proudly that Black Lives Matter, denounce attempts to divide and oppress, and attempt to embody radical hospitality.

Description

St. Stephen's is a different kind of church. It's a place where we take the concept of community seriously - a place not to retreat from the pressures or turmoil of life but to be actively engaged in a comunidad de base - priesthood of all believers. This is not a place where the congregation is called simply to sing and listen. It's a unique, diverse, inclusive community that will encourage and inspire you to think deeply, reflect critically, and communicate openly. No matter who you are, who you love, what you look like, or what you believe, you're welcome to join the conversation and the community at St. Stephen's. Here, all voices are heard and identities are affirmed. We embrace and celebrate the LGBTQ+ community, proclaim proudly that Black Lives Matter, denounce attempts to divide and oppress, and attempt to embody radical hospitality.

CAUSE AREAS

Environment
Environment

WHEN

Wed Jul 12, 2023 - Wed Jun 26, 2024
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
This opportunity has 53 shifts

WHERE

Los Angeles, CA 90028

(34.10122,-118.32574)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity

We're sorry, this opportunity is no longer active.

Please find other opportunities.

Find Opportunities