St. James' Saturday Soup Kitchen

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: St. James Episcopal Church



Join our all-volunteer crew on Saturday mornings to provide a safe space for socializing for our unhoused and low-income neighbors.

Why:

The primary impact of this event is the provision of dignity and respect for our unhoused neighbors, in a safe place run by kind and generous volunteers. Most of those who we serve are loyal regulars, some of whom continue to attend even after they've found affordable housing. The services we provide--home-cooked meals, clean clothes, social activities, and conversation--help to create a sense of self-esteem for people whose lives are otherwise full of stress and vulnerability.

What's Expected:

Volunteers work together to create a safe space for socializing. Activities include the preparation and distribution of hot meals throughout the morning, organization and distribution of donated clothing from the clothing shed, and help with special activities including an art table, board games, music, and lending library.

At the end of the event, volunteers help to clean up and return tables and chairs to storage. We have a strong core of experienced volunteers who show up weekly. They will be ready to welcome you and orient you to all our activities.

What's Required:

Because those we serve tend to be older and chronically homeless, many come to us struggling with mental health and substance use disorders. Your familiarity with trauma-informed care is a plus. We provide basic tips about this approach in our volunteer agreement and during a quick orientation on your first day of volunteering.

We require all volunteers to be at least 18 years old. We are willing to work with younger volunteers under certain conditions, described in our volunteer agreement here: https://forms.gle/a12PZXM7drm1z2Au7

Accessibility:

All our activities are wheelchair accessible.

Have Questions?

Please contact the Opportunity Coordinator listed below for support.

This opportunity is managed by an L.A. Works partner, St. James Episcopal Church.

All volunteers participating in this volunteer opportunity are expected to adhere to the health and safety guidelines outlined here: https://www.laworks.com/health-and-safety

By clicking "Sign Up" I certify I have read and agree to the Volunteer Terms and Conditions

127 Shifts
Available spots are approximations

Some shifts have expired
  • Sat Jun 22, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 22, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 29, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 29, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 20, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 27, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 03, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 10, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 17, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 24, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 31, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 07, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 14, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 21, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 28, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 05, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 12, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 19, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 26, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 02, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 09, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 16, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 23, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 30, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 07, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 14, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 21, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 28, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 15, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 15, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 08, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 08, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 01, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jun 01, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 25, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 25, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 18, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 18, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 11, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 11, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 04, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 04, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat May 04, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 27, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 27, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 27, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 20, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 20, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 20, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Apr 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 30, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 30, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 30, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 23, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 23, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 23, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 16, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 16, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 09, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 09, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 02, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Mar 02, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 24, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 24, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 24, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 17, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 17, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 17, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 10, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 10, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 10, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Feb 03, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 27, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 20, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 13, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jan 06, 2024 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 2
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 30, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 30, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 23, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 16, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 16, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 09, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 09, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 02, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Dec 02, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 25, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 25, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 18, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 18, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 11, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 11, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Nov 04, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 28, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 21, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 21, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 14, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 14, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 07, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Oct 07, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 30, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 23, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 16, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 09, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 02, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Sep 02, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 26, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 19, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 19, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 12, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 12, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Aug 05, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 29, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 29, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 22, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 22, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 1
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 15, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
  • Sat Jul 15, 2023 - 08:30 AM to 01:00 PM PST - FULL
    Los Angeles CA 90010 US
More Shifts

1 More opportunity with St. James Episcopal Church

Request failed
{{ opp.title }}
This is a Virtual Opportunity.
{{ opp.location }}
We'll work with your schedule
{{ opp.dateStr }}
{{ opp.timeStr }}
More
Opportunities

About St. James Episcopal Church

Location:

3903 Wilshire Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90010, US

Mission Statement

St. James’ Church affirms that all persons are created equal in the eyes of God, deserve to be treated with dignity and respect, and have a full and equal claim to the love, acceptance and pastoral care of the Church. We therefore welcome all people without regard to their race, gender, sexual orientation, economic or social circumstances. All programs and ministries of St. James’ Church and School are conducted in accordance with this affirmation and this commitment.

Description

Volunteer help with hosting the Showers of Hope project on Saturday mornings, including set-up, welcoming, food distribution, assistance with clothing distribution, using safe practices at all times.

CAUSE AREAS

Homeless & Housing
Homeless & Housing

WHEN

Sat Jul 15, 2023 - Sat Dec 28, 2024
08:30 AM - 01:00 PM
This opportunity has 127 shifts

WHERE

Los Angeles, CA 90010

(34.06255,-118.30894)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity