During these uncertain times, how can we help?

As the world leader in volunteerism we feel a responsibility to unite our broader community, and to use this moment to become stronger.

See below to access our COVID-19 Resource Hub, and to explore our growing directory of COVID-19-specific and virtual volunteering opportunities.
Read More
 

ON-SITE: Food Prep & Sorting (M-F: 9AM - 12PM)

Save to Favorites

Someone Cares Soup Kitchen



Our mission is simple: To feed a hot and nutritional meal to the homeless, the unemployed, the working poor, the mentally challenged, the physically challenged, senior citizens, and most importantly - the children.

The Soup Kitchen provides 200 meals per day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year! We make our meals fresh daily, consisting of soup, vegetable and fruit salads, hearty and filling side dishes, bread, dessert, and water. Along with this meal, our guests also get to choose from a wide variety of donations from our partners, such as Trader Joe's, Wal-Mart, The National Charity League, and community members like you who want to support our mission!

To get a better idea of our organization and familiarize yourself with our work, PLEASE ENJOY THIS BRIEF VIDEO: Welcome to Someone Cares Soup Kitchen! We look forward to meeting and serving alongside you soon!

COVID-19 Guidelines: Someone Cares Soup Kitchen's top priority is to keep residents, volunteers, employees, and their families safe and healthy. Per CDC guidelines and the population we serve, we still require face masks while serving at SCSK after June 15th, 2021. Please be sure to bring and wear a face mask to your shift since supplies are limited. If you have a fever, are sick, show signs of COVID-19, have been in the proximity of someone with COVID-19, or are awaiting diagnosis, you may NOT volunteer.

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

ALL VOLUNTEER OPPORTUNITIES at Someone Cares Soup Kitchen are highly important, directly affect our organization's operation, and are vital to our day-to-day success. Our volunteers are the driving force behind our mission and the heartbeat of our organization. By empowering volunteers to take ownership of their service while making a difference in the community, we all thrive. From first-time volunteers to our veterans, we simply could not do what we do without you!



Food Prep Volunteer Role & Responsibilities:

Prep food for cooking: cut, clean, store, etc.

Assist in the cooking of pre-planned meals (guided by our head chef). No experience necessary, but it is always a plus!

Transfer meals from the kitchen to the service line.

Set up donation intake area.

Sort and store food donations in our commercial refrigerators.

Break down boxes.

Sweep/Mop.

Wash dishes.

Prepare food items for the next day's menu.

Minimum Requirements:

First-time volunteers are required to arrive 15 minutes early for a brief orientation.

Must be at least 15 Years old to volunteer (No Exceptions).

Must be able to volunteer for the entire shift.

Ability to lift 40 pounds.

Standing, twisting, bending, reaching.

Dress Code:

Closed-toed shoes.

Comfortable/casual clothing (no tank tops, short shorts, exposed mid-drift).

Volunteers who have long hair must pull it back into a ponytail or bun.

Inappropriate tattoos must be covered.

Must wear masks and gloves at all times.

***We provide gloves and masks if needed***

101 Shifts Available spots are approximations

Some shifts have expired
  • Wed Aug 04, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Aug 05, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Aug 06, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 09, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 10, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Aug 11, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Aug 12, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Aug 13, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 16, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 17, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Aug 18, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Aug 19, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Aug 20, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 23, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 24, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Aug 25, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Aug 26, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Aug 27, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 30, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 31, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Sep 01, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Sep 02, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Sep 03, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Sep 06, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Sep 07, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Sep 08, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Sep 09, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Sep 10, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Sep 13, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Sep 14, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Sep 15, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Sep 16, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Sep 17, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Sep 20, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Sep 21, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Sep 22, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Sep 23, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Sep 24, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 03, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Aug 03, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 02, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Aug 02, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 30, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 30, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 29, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 29, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 28, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 28, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 27, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 27, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 26, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 26, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 23, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 23, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 22, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 22, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 21, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 21, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 20, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 20, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 19, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 19, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 16, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 16, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 15, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 15, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 14, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 14, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 13, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 13, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 12, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 12, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 09, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 09, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 08, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 08, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jul 07, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jul 06, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jul 05, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jul 02, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jul 01, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jun 30, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jun 29, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jun 28, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jun 25, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jun 24, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jun 23, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jun 22, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jun 21, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jun 18, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jun 17, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jun 16, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jun 15, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jun 14, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jun 11, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jun 10, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Wed Jun 09, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Tue Jun 08, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Mon Jun 07, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Fri Jun 04, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
  • Thu Jun 03, 2021 - 09:00 AM to 12:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    Costa Mesa CA 92627 US
More Shifts

3 More opportunities with Someone Cares Soup Kitchen

About Someone Cares Soup Kitchen

Location:

PO Box 11267, Costa Mesa, CA 92627, US

Mission Statement

To feed a daily nutritional meal to the homeless, the unemployed, the working poor, the mentally challenged, the physically challenged, senior citizens, and most importantly the children.

Description

Founded by Merle Hatleberg in 1986, SCSK has served more than 200 meals per day for the past 34 years to those in need. We provide one hot meal a day, seven days a week. Lunch is served Monday through Friday from 12:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m., and breakfast is served Saturday and Sunday mornings from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 am. We have several volunteer shifts and can accommodate groups of 4-10. Groups MUST reserve a spot before volunteering. For more information on our volunteer opportunities and what we are doing to stay COVID-19 compliant, please reach out the Elizabeth Hernandez at 949-548-8861 or elizabeth@someonecareskitchen.org

Homeless & Housing
Hunger

WHEN

Thu Jun 03, 2021 - Fri Sep 24, 2021
09:00 AM - 12:00 PM   This opportunity has 101 shifts

WHERE

Costa Mesa, CA 92627

(33.64962,-117.91904)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity