Millions of Americans are now eligible for student loan relief

Join VolunteerMatch in getting the word out! Visit the government's website to learn more about the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Waiver. Available until 10/31/22.
Read More
  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
 

Pantry Program - Help Distribute Food To Those In Need!

Save to Favorites

ORGANIZATION: St. Francis Center

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
Image_202110070810



QUICK OVERVIEW

Distribute food to those in need.

MISSION

Since 1972, the St. Francis Center (SFC) has provided relief and support to homeless and extremely low-income individuals and families in Los Angeles. Much more than a soup kitchen or a food pantry, we offer a unique range of services to sustain and empower those in need. Welcoming all with joy, dignity, and compassion, we dedicate ourselves every day to Serving Hope in our community.



ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Metered parking (coins and credit cards accepted) outside our Center. Meters start at 8 am.

It is a St. Francis Center policy that volunteers DO NOT give money, medication, or rides to guests. If asked, volunteers should politely respond that we can't give out cash or rides. All requests for assistance should be referred to the Resource office.

Volunteer opportunities for court-mandated service hours must be approved 48 hours in advance before starting. Please email Juniper at Juniper@sfcla.org for approval.

Lastly, we are always looking for volunteers who are available to commit to volunteering every week on a specific day, to help us reduce turnover. Let us know, perhaps after completing your first volunteer opportunity, if this is something you would be interested in.

COVID PRECAUTIONS

Our guests at the SFC tend to have less access to medical care and are more likely to be immunocompromised. Due to this vulnerability, we are still requiring that volunteers wear masks while at SFC. Thank you for your understanding.

While SFC is taking additional measures to go above and beyond standard COVID-19 health protocols, please be aware there is always a small risk of exposure when going out. Handwashing stations, hand sanitizer, disposable gloves, and disposable masks are readily available when needed.



While we would love to have you volunteer with us, please stay home and recover if you are feeling at all sick and we will see you when you are feeling better.



QUESTIONS? Email Juniper at volunteer@sfcla.org. If interested, please sign up to volunteer! We will follow up and confirm your volunteer date along with more information about the next steps.



All volunteers participating in this volunteer opportunity should adhere to the health and safety guidelines outlined here: https://www.laworks.com/health-and-safety

By clicking "Sign Up," I acknowledge that I am aware and understand that I am being referred to Activities that are coordinated and managed by a third-party Agency or Organization and that L.A. Works has no jurisdiction, control, or oversight over these Activities. The Activities may be inherently dangerous and may expose me to a variety of foreseen and unforeseen hazards and risks including exposure to Coronavirus Disease 2019 ("COVID-19"). The Activities may involve a degree of contact with clients who need assistance and other volunteers who may be carriers of COVID-19 and that personal protective equipment may not be available for my use and/or effective in preventing transmission of COVID-19 whether as a result of my actions or otherwise.

By clicking "Sign Up," I acknowledge that I am voluntarily participating in the Activities and have considered those risks. I hereby expressly and specifically assume such risks, including any risk of injury, illness, harm, or loss that I may incur as a result of my participation in the Activities. I hereby fully and forever release and discharge L.A. Works from, and expressly waive, any liability claims, and demands of whatever kind or nature, either in law or in equity, that may arise from my participation in the Activities.



Please Note: Volunteer opportunities for court-mandated service hours must be approved 48 hours in advance before starting. Please email Juniper at Juniper@sfcla.org for approval.



120 Shifts
Available spots are approximations

Some shifts have expired
  • Wed Sep 28, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 29, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 30, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Oct 04, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Oct 05, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Oct 06, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Oct 07, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Oct 11, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Oct 12, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Oct 13, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Oct 14, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Oct 18, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Oct 19, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Oct 20, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Oct 21, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Oct 25, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Oct 26, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Oct 27, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Oct 28, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Nov 01, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Nov 02, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Nov 03, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Nov 04, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Nov 08, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Nov 09, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Nov 10, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Nov 11, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Nov 15, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Nov 16, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Nov 17, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Nov 18, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Nov 22, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Nov 23, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Nov 24, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Nov 25, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Nov 29, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Nov 30, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Dec 01, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Dec 02, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Dec 06, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Dec 07, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Dec 08, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Dec 09, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Dec 13, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Dec 14, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Dec 15, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Dec 16, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Dec 20, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Dec 21, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Dec 22, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Dec 23, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Sep 27, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 23, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 23, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 22, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 22, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Sep 21, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Sep 20, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Sep 20, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Sat Sep 17, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 16, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 16, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 15, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 15, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Sep 14, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Sep 13, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Sep 09, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 08, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Sep 08, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Sep 07, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Sep 07, 2022 - 09:00 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Aug 31, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Aug 30, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Tue Aug 30, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Aug 26, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Aug 26, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Aug 25, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Aug 25, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Aug 24, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Aug 23, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Tue Aug 23, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Sat Aug 20, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 2
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Aug 05, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Aug 05, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Aug 04, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 3
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Aug 02, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Aug 02, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 29, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 29, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 28, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Jul 26, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Sat Jul 23, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jul 22, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 22, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 21, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Jul 19, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 15, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 15, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 14, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 14, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 14, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Tue Jul 12, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Jul 12, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jul 08, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 08, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Thu Jul 07, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Jul 06, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Jul 06, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Wed Jul 06, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Tue Jul 05, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Tue Jul 05, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jul 01, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 01, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Los Angeles CA 90015 US
  • Fri Jul 01, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jun 24, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Sat Jun 18, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 3
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jun 17, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Tue Jun 14, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Fri Jun 10, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
  • Thu Jun 09, 2022 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 4
    Please allow a 36 hours window for onboarding. A confirmation email will be sent to you.
More Shifts

1 More opportunity with St. Francis Center

3 Reviews
Request failed
{{ opp.title }}
This is a Virtual Opportunity.
{{ opp.location }}
We'll work with your schedule
{{ opp.dateStr }}
{{ opp.timeStr }}
More
Opportunities

About St. Francis Center

Location:

1835 S. Hope St, LOS ANGELES, CA 90015, US

Mission Statement

Since 1972, St. Francis Center has provided relief and support to homeless and extremely low-income individuals and families in Los Angeles. Much more than a soup kitchen or a food pantry, we offer a unique range of services to sustain and empower those in need. Welcoming all with joy, dignity and compassion, we dedicate ourselves every day to Serving Hope in our community.

Description

Our two main programs include our Unhoused Wellbeing - Breakfast Service and the Family Wellbeing - Food Pantry Distribution. Our to-go breakfast service is part of our Unhoused Wellbeing Program. Members of our unhoused community visit the centermost mornings for a hot coffee and breakfast which also includes a bag of lunch for later. Our Food Pantry distribution is part of our Family Well-Being Program. Extremely low-income families, seniors, students, and individuals from the community visit the center once a week for groceries (our distribution days are from Wednesday-Saturday). They receive a pantry program box that includes a variety of fresh produce, bread, and canned goods.

CAUSE AREAS

Homeless & Housing
Homeless & Housing

WHEN

Thu Jun 09, 2022 - Fri Dec 23, 2022
09:00 AM - 12:30 PM
This opportunity has 120 shifts

WHERE

1835 South Hope StreetLos Angeles, CA 90015

(34.03402,-118.2698)
 

SKILLS

  • Food & Beverage Services
  • Food Delivery / Distribution
  • Food Service

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 8
  • Orientation or Training

Report this opportunity