During these uncertain times, how can we help?

As the world leader in volunteerism we feel a responsibility to unite our broader community, and to use this moment to become stronger.

See below to access our COVID-19 Resource Hub, and to explore our growing directory of COVID-19-specific and virtual volunteering opportunities.
Read More
 

COVID-19 Food Assistance Project with Hunger Free America

Save to Favorites

Hunger Free America

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
  • 1 person is interested

Join the COVID Food Assistance Project!

***VIRTUAL PROJECT***

Complete at your convenience/schedule

More than 37 million people struggle with hunger in this country on an average day. Due to the current health crisis, this number may only grow. In this rapidly changing environment, many food operations have been adjusted and redirected; pantries and kitchens have had to change their distribution methods, emergency food delivery for home bound seniors has increased, restaurants are providing meals to hungry kids, and stores have special hours for at risk populations.

Hunger Free America is building a national database of food access resources (food banks, soup pantries, WIC/SNAP offices, etc.). Our goal for the database is to be the most comprehensive collection of food resources in the country and to substantially increase visibility and accessibility of resources to individuals who need them.

For this service project you will be helping HFA’s data team with our national database by ensuring the accuracy of existing emergency food site listings.

The crowdsourced information - such as details on where food, supplies, and volunteers are needed most - will be routed to the appropriate partners, and the site statuses will be freely available to the public. It will also be used to help the national USDA Hunger Hotline connect callers to the most up-to-date resources.

Click this link to see our data in map format: https://findfood.hungerfreeamerica.org/

Key Responsibilities: Volunteer responsibilities include verifying and ensuring that all data is accurate in order to launch a comprehensive collection of the sites’ information. Volunteers are able to conduct this research remotely and will verify and/or identify resources by contacting sites directly. The volunteer will then create a listing of verified sites.

Qualifications: Comfortable conducting online search, using basic web tools, and talking on the phone.

Training/Support Provided: Volunteers will receive the support of HFA to provide guidance and training on the data and gathering process. A supervisor will be available to provide any assistance necessary. Please feel free to reach out with any immediate questions to volunteer@hungerfreeamerica.org

All new volunteers must attend a Project Orientation to learn how to conduct this volunteer work.

Orientation sessions are held on Mondays 1-3pm EST/10am-12pm PST or 4-6pm EST/1-3pm PST (alternating weeks), Wednesdays 5-7pm EST/2-4pm PST, and the 1st Sunday of the month 4-6pm EST/1-3pm PST.

Register for an orientation session here: https://hungervolunteer.volunteerhub.com/events/search?q=COVID+Orientation

If you have any questions about this event, please reach out to volunteer@hungerfreeamerica.org

12 More opportunities with Hunger Free America

About Hunger Free America

Location:

50 Broad Street, NY, NY 10004, US

Mission Statement

HUNGER FREE AMERICA is a national nonprofit group building a nonpartisan, grassroots membership movement to enact the policies and programs needed to end domestic hunger and ensure that all Americans have sufficient access to nutritious food.

Description

HUNGER FREE AMERICA (formerly known as the New York City Coalition Against Hunger) is a national nonprofit group building a nonpartisan, grass-roots membership movement to enact the policies and programs needed to end domestic hunger and ensure that all Americans have sufficient access to nutritious food.

Our long-term goal is not just to ameliorate the problem, but also to build the people’s movement necessary to enact the economic and public policies needed to end hunger entirely. Given that hunger drains our economy and tears at our moral and civic fabric, we know that eliminating it will boost the nation both economically and spiritually. Towards that end, we’ve adopted the motto: "Ending hunger lifts us all."

Community
Crisis Support
Hunger

WHEN

We'll work with your schedule.

WHERE

This is a Virtual Opportunity with no fixed address.

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 14
  • Each orientation session requires a time commitment of 2 hours, after which the work can be done on your own schedule.

Report this opportunity