During these uncertain times, how can we help?

As the world leader in volunteerism we feel a responsibility to unite our broader community, and to use this moment to become stronger.

See below to access our COVID-19 Resource Hub, and to explore our growing directory of COVID-19-specific and virtual volunteering opportunities.
Read More
 

Phone Banking to Increase Food Access with Hunger Free America

Save to Favorites

Hunger Free America

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
  • 7 people are interested

Volunteer with HFA to help connect families to food assistance!

Register to volunteer here, https://hungervolunteer.volunteerhub.com/events/search?q=Phone+Banking

Phone Banking Shifts - Mondays 5-7pm EST/2-4pm PST, Tuesdays 4-6pm EST/1-3pm PST, Thursdays 5-7pm EST/2-4pm PST, 3rd Sunday of the month 2-4pm EST/11-1pm PST

HUNGER FREE AMERICA is a nonpartisan, national nonprofit group working to enact the policies and programs needed to end domestic hunger and ensure that all Americans have sufficient access to nutritious food.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, countless families have faced unprecedented circumstances that have caused financial strain and limited access to basic amenities like food and shelter. The HFA phone banking initiative serves to connect families with information and resources to support them during these times.

***This is an entirely virtual event that requires a time commitment of 2 hours.

Volunteer Duties

  • Use a web based tool to contact community members and provide vital food resources and information, using a guided script.

A basic overview of the programs and resources will be reviewed at the start of the event.

Volunteers should be reasonably comfortable with web based tools, have access to a laptop/computer & stable internet.

Register to volunteer here, https://hungervolunteer.volunteerhub.com/events/search?q=Phone+Banking

13 More opportunities with Hunger Free America

About Hunger Free America

Location:

50 Broad Street, NY, NY 10004, US

Mission Statement

HUNGER FREE AMERICA is a national nonprofit group building a nonpartisan, grassroots membership movement to enact the policies and programs needed to end domestic hunger and ensure that all Americans have sufficient access to nutritious food.

Description

HUNGER FREE AMERICA (formerly known as the New York City Coalition Against Hunger) is a national nonprofit group building a nonpartisan, grass-roots membership movement to enact the policies and programs needed to end domestic hunger and ensure that all Americans have sufficient access to nutritious food.

Our long-term goal is not just to ameliorate the problem, but also to build the people’s movement necessary to enact the economic and public policies needed to end hunger entirely. Given that hunger drains our economy and tears at our moral and civic fabric, we know that eliminating it will boost the nation both economically and spiritually. Towards that end, we’ve adopted the motto: "Ending hunger lifts us all."

Community
Crisis Support
Hunger

WHEN

We'll work with your schedule.

WHERE

This is a Virtual Opportunity with no fixed address.

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • Each event requires a commitment of 2 hours.

Report this opportunity