How can you support relief efforts in Haiti and Afghanistan?

Learn more about resources to support people in Haiti and Afghanistan.

Read More
 

FOOD: City Heights Super Pantry

Save to Favorites

Somali Bantu Association of America



Help distribute food to families in need. Super Pantries are food distribution hubs located across San Diego County that offer both contactless "drive-thru" and "walk-up" food distribution services. All Super Pantries are open for food distribution a minimum of 3 days per week. Individuals and families in need of food assistance can visit their nearest Super Pantry during opening hours to receive emergency groceries and resources.

The Somali Bantu Association of America is looking for volunteers to help them run their Super Pantry in City Heights. As a volunteer, your service will directly benefit local refugee families and families struggling with food insecurity due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Volunteer duties may include: organizing and sorting food packages, setting up check in tables and drive through markers, checking families into an online system, packaging and delivering food to drive up vehicles, directing lines and helping to maintain social distancing protocols, cleaning up and putting away items for next distribution date.

Opportunity Requirements & Important Notes

Attire: Closed-toe shoes are required. Wear clothes that you don't mind getting dirty. Masks and gloves are required at all times.

Physical Requirements: Bending, able to lift up to 20lbs

Weather: This project is canceled in the event of rain. Volunteers will be notified by the project coordinator.

About the Somali Bantu Association of America

The mission of the SBAOA is to provide the guidance and services needed to empower and aid Somali Bantu and other refugees as they integrate into America.

59 Shifts
Available spots are approximations

Some shifts have expired
  • Fri Oct 29, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Nov 05, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Nov 12, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Nov 19, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Nov 26, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 22, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 15, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 15, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 08, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 01, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Oct 01, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 24, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 24, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 17, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 17, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 10, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 10, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Sep 03, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Aug 27, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Aug 20, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Aug 13, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Aug 13, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Aug 06, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jul 30, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jul 23, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jul 16, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jul 09, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jul 02, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jun 25, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jun 18, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jun 11, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Jun 04, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri May 28, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - FULL
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri May 21, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri May 14, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 1
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri May 07, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Apr 30, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - FULL
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Apr 23, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Apr 16, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Apr 09, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Apr 02, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 6
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Mar 31, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 6
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Mar 29, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Mar 26, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Mar 24, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Mar 22, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Mar 19, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Mar 17, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Mar 15, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 6
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Mar 12, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Mar 10, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Mar 08, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 6
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Mar 05, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Mar 03, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Mar 01, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Feb 26, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 3
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Wed Feb 24, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 4
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Mon Feb 22, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 5
    San Diego CA 92105 US
  • Fri Feb 19, 2021 - 12:00 PM to 03:00 PM - Spots available: 2
    San Diego CA 92105 US
More Shifts

More opportunities with Somali Bantu Association of America

1 Review

No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.

About Somali Bantu Association of America

Location:

4979 University Avenue Suite A, San Diego, CA 92105, US

Mission Statement

The Somali Bantu Association of America (SBAOA) serves refugees, immigrants, and similarly vulnerable groups in City Heights who experience substantial barriers to financial, cultural, and social integration into American society. Our programming includes community support initiatives, language services, education, job skills training, which increase the likelihood of gainful employment, and vital support services and resources.

Description

We are looking for volunteers to help us distribute food to families in need as part of our new role as a Jacobs & Cushman Super Food Pantry. We distribute food Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings.

Homeless & Housing
Hunger
Immigrants & Refugees

WHEN

Fri Feb 19, 2021 - Fri Nov 26, 2021
12:00 PM - 03:00 PM
This opportunity has 59 shifts

WHERE

San Diego, CA 92105

(32.73489,-117.09706)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity