During these uncertain times, how can we help?

As the world leader in volunteerism we feel a responsibility to unite our broader community, and to use this moment to become stronger.

See below to access our COVID-19 Resource Hub, and to explore our growing directory of COVID-19-specific and virtual volunteering opportunities.
Read More
 

ECO: Farm at Wild Willow

Save to Favorites

Wild Willow Farm



Often the best way to learn is by doing. Get a taste of the myriad of things a farmer does while preparing and growing San Diego seasonal plantings of vegetables, greens, medicinal and culinary herbs and cover crops at Wild Willow Farm.

Volunteer tasks depend on your level of experience, abilities, and the needs of the farm that week. Tasks might include: mucking animal pens, weeding, bed building, planting, developing areas for their classes and field trips, mulching, putting up structures, composting, and more!

The farm is a great place for people of all ages and abilities. You'll get to work with Wild Willow Farm farmers, team leaders, and interns. WWF is an educational farm, so there's no experience required, and they'll teach you everything you need to know to be involved. Don't hesitate to ask them any questions.

Opportunity Requirements & Important Notes

Attire: Closed-toe shoes (no sandals), long pants and sleeves, sun hat, and a mask.

Bring: Sunscreen, refillable water bottle, snacks. Please come prepared for sunshine, cold, heat and working in the dirt. They have bugs, all kinds of wild plants, animals, and more, so please bring any medications you need for allergies. All necessary tools and gloves will be provided.

Safety: People safety is as important to Wild Willow Farm as food safety, so please do not come if you have been sick, please wear a mask, and observe appropriate social distancing. They are doing their best to keep their farmers and community safe, so please respect necessary precautions.

Physical Abilities: Wild Willow Farm welcomes people of all ages and abilities.

Weather: Even though it only rains 10" a year on average in San Diego, when it does rain, it can get uncomfortably muddy on the farm. If it's been raining heavily at the farm over several days or there is prediction of significant amounts of rain for an upcoming project, more than likely the volunteering day will be canceled. Volunteers will be notified via email if a project is canceled.

About Wild Willow Farm

Wild Willow Farm is a space for biocultural diversity that provides educational experiences to nurture self-empowerment and inspire people to connect to food, land and each other. Under the Resource Conservation District, they also work to protect, conserve, and restore natural resources through education, information, and technical assistance programs.

64 Shifts Available spots are approximations

Some shifts have expired
  • Mon Jul 26, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 31, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Aug 02, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Aug 07, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Aug 09, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Aug 14, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Aug 16, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Aug 21, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Aug 23, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Aug 28, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Aug 30, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 24, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 24, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jul 19, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jul 19, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 17, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 17, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jul 12, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jul 12, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 10, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 10, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jul 03, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jun 28, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jun 26, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jun 21, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jun 19, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jun 14, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jun 12, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Jun 07, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Jun 05, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat May 29, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon May 24, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat May 22, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon May 17, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat May 15, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon May 10, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat May 08, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon May 03, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat May 01, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Apr 26, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Apr 24, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Apr 19, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Apr 17, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Apr 12, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Apr 10, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Apr 05, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Apr 03, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Mar 29, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Mar 27, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Mar 22, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 8
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Mar 20, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 8
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Mar 15, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Mar 13, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Mar 08, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Mar 06, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 8
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Mar 01, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Feb 27, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 8
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Feb 22, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 9
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Feb 20, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Feb 15, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 8
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Feb 13, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Feb 08, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Sat Feb 06, 2021 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 10+
    San Diego CA 92154 US
  • Mon Nov 23, 2020 - 09:30 AM to 12:30 PM - Spots available: 1
More Shifts

More opportunities with Wild Willow Farm

No additional volunteer opportunities at this time.

About Wild Willow Farm

Location:

2550 Sunset Ave, San Diego, CA 92154, US

Mission Statement

Wild Willow Farm is a space for biocultural diversity that provides educational experiences to nurture self-empowerment and inspire people to connect to food, land and each other. Under the RCD, we also work to protect, conserve, and restore natural resources through education, information, and technical assistance programs.

Description

Often the best way to learn is by doing. Get a taste of the myriad of things a farmer does while preparing and growing San Diego seasonal plantings of vegetables, greens, medicinal and culinary herbs and cover crops. No experience is necessary, reservations are not required (but recommended), and families are welcome. Please arrive before 9:30AM for check-in. If you have reserved a spot, you must be here by 9:45AM or you could lose your spot. Rain or special event may cancel, so please check our social media ahead of time.

Currently limited to 10 per day, RSVP recommended.

Environment
Homeless & Housing
Hunger

WHEN

Sun Oct 11, 2020 - Mon Aug 30, 2021
09:30 AM - 12:30 PM   This opportunity has 64 shifts

WHERE

San Diego, CA 92154

(32.59672,-116.90281)
 

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

N/A

REQUIREMENTS

N/A

Report this opportunity