Save young LGBTQ lives with The Trevor Project


Cause Areas

When

It's flexible! We'll work with your schedule.

Where

This is a Virtual Opportunity, with no fixed address.

About

TrevorChat and TrevorChat volunteers provide life-saving, life-affirming support to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) youth. Our volunteers are trained to answer instant messages or texts online from young people who are struggling with issues such as suicidality, coming out, LGBTQ identities and depression. Our volunteers are life-savers by creating safe spaces for LGBTQ youth in crisis and promoting awareness of Trevor’s resources.

Who you are:

  • Passionate. You have a desire to save lives. You care about LGBTQ youth and want to make a difference for youth in crisis
  • Empathetic. You are open-minded and able to suspend judgement. You are a good listener and can communicate clearly and concisely
  • Learner. You are committed to continual improvement and embrace feedback
  • Dependable. You are trustworthy and reliable. You exercise good judgement. You have strong time-management skills and know how to manage your personal and professional calendars
  • Digital Savvy. You are comfortable with digital platforms and have access to a high-speed internet connection in a private location
  • At least 18 years old. You must be at least 18 years old to volunteer. If you are under 18, please consider our Trevor Youth Ambassador Council

What you’ll do:

  • Serve three to four 3-hour shifts per month on the same day each week. During these shifts you will answer instant messages or texts online from young people. You must be able to work during at least one of the below shift times:
    • 12-3pm PST / 3-6pm EST
    • 2:30-5:30pm PST / 5:30-8:30pm EST
    • 5-8pm PST / 8-11pm EST
  • Complete our comprehensive training to prepare you to best serve our youth. You must be able to attend all training dates and times. See below for upcoming training. If none of the below dates work for you, please reach out so we can keep you updated on additional trainings.
    • November Training:
      • Oct. 25th at 5pm-7pmPST/7pm-9pmEST
      • Oct. 30, Nov. 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, 27, 29 (Mon + Wed) at 2pm-6:30pm PST/5pm-9:30pm EST
    • January Training: exact dates TBD

How to Apply:

  1. Complete a Volunteer Application
  2. Digitally Sign Volunteer Agreement

For more information, visit our website here or reach out to our Community Engagement Coordinator Ashley Choi at Ashley.Choi@thetrevorproject.org .

Thank you for your enthusiasm for The Trevor Project and being a life-saver!

Skills

  • Crisis Intervention
  • Mental Health
  • Relationship Building
  • Crisis Counseling
  • Youth Services

Good Match For

Teens People 55+

Requirements & Commitment

  • Must be at least 18
  • Orientation or Training
  • 3 hour shifts 3-4 times a month

Report this opportunity

Report this opportunity