How can you support relief efforts in Haiti and Afghanistan?

Learn more about resources to support people in Haiti and Afghanistan.

Read More
  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
  • 38 people are interested
 

PRAIRIE SEED COLLECTION

Save to Favorites

Three Rivers Park District

  • A group opportunity. Invite your friends.
  • 38 people are interested
NRM Turtle

Help restore prairie by collecting native wildflower seed. Volunteers help increase the amount and
diversity of seed planted each year. Nearly 2,000 acres of restored prairie are now managed by Three
Rivers Park District. Your help is extremely important to this effort. Invite your friends to participate too!

Seed collection starts in late August and runs through early October on selected Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays.

For the current schedule and to register go to: www.threeriversparks.org/page/prairie-seed-collection

The minimum age for participation is 12. Youth must be accompanied by an adult (1 adult/8 youth 12-14 years). Groups of 10 or more adults or youth accompanied by adults may arrange special collection dates by contacting Angela Grill, Natural Resources Wildlife Specialist, at 763-694-7851 or Angela.Grill@threeriversparks.org.

One-time helpers are welcome; however, ongoing membership in the volunteer program is encouraged. To sign up as a volunteer or for more information, contact the Volunteer Office at 763-559-6706 or volunteer@threeriversparks.org.

2021 Seed Collection Schedule and Locations:
All collections will start at 10:30 a.m. and end at approximately 1:30 p.m.

Collections at Crow Hassan Park Reserve (Rogers)
- Tues, August 17
- Sat, August 21
- Tues, August 24
- Sat, August 28
- Thurs, September 2
- Sat, September 11
- Sat, September 25
- Tues, September 28
- Tues, October 12
- Sat, October 16

Collections at Eastman Nature Center (Maple Grove)
- Tues, September 7
- Sat, October 9

Collections at Lowry Nature Center (Victoria)
- Thurs, September 16

Collections at Murphy-Hanrehan Park Reserve (Savage)
- Tues, August 31
- Sat, September 18
- Tues, October 5

Collections at Richardson Nature Center (Bloomington)
- Tues, September 21

5 More opportunities with Three Rivers Park District

1 Review
Request failed
{{ opp.title }}
This is a Virtual Opportunity.
{{ opp.location }}
We'll work with your schedule
{{ opp.dateStr }}
{{ opp.timeStr }}
More
Opportunities

About Three Rivers Park District

Location:

Administrative Center, 3000 Xenium Lane N, Plymouth, MN 55441, US

Mission Statement

The mission of Three Rivers Park District is to promote environmental stewardship through recreation and education in a natural resources-based park system.

Description

Volunteers help to make the Park District a fun, safe, educational environment for people of all ages, interests and abilities. Volunteers may be involved with nature, cultural history, recreation and farm programs; site enhancement; events; golf course; public safety; and, natural resources management. Groups may help clean up the parks or perform other tasks that are appropriate for the size and age of the group. Check out the current newsletter at ThreeRiversParks/volunteer.

Environment
Sports & Recreation

WHEN

Tue Aug 17, 2021 - Sat Oct 16, 2021
10:30 AM - 01:30 PM

WHERE

Park District Main Office3000 Xenium Lane NPlymouth, MN 55441

SKILLS

GOOD FOR

  • Teens
  • People 55+
  • Group

REQUIREMENTS

  • One time or ongoing. 3 hours a session.
  • Able to hike into the prairie which is uneven with tall grass. Manual dexterity is needed.

Report this opportunity