Work-Study Opportunities at a Buddhist Center


(37.868958,-122.26953)
 

Cause Areas

When

It's flexible! We'll work with your schedule.

Where

2018 Allston WayBerkeley, CA 94704


About

Work-Study Opportunities at a Buddhist Center in Berkeley, CA

Live and grow in a Buddhist community at Berkeley’s Downtown Dharma Centers. Through balance of study and practice with meaningful work, you will learn how work itself can support spiritual growth.

Living in community helps you deepen your practice and explore your own values. Classes and workshops introduce you to accessible and transformative Buddhist teachings and practices. The work you do will protect Tibet's endangered culture and contribute to transmitting Tibetan Buddhist teachings to the West. No formal Buddhist commitment or background is required.

Our unique work-study program also provides an opportunity to learn new skills or build upon existing ones.


Skills Desired:

-Social Media Management

-Graphic Design

-Web Development

-Maintenance and Property Management

-Fundraising and Grant Writing

-Events Coordination

-Non-Profit Org Administration and Accounting

-Marketing & Public Relations

-Sacred Art/Sewing

-Cooking for Groups (Vegetarian Meals)


This program is offered through the Nyingma Association of Mandala Organizations (NAMO), a group of Buddhist non-profits staffed by volunteers. To learn more or download an application form, go to www.mandalatraining.org .

We also welcome inquiries about non-residential volunteer opportunities. Please go to www.dharmavolunteers.org.


Learn more about our activities in Berkeley, CA.:

Tibetain Aid Project: www.tibetanaidproject.org

Dharma College: www.dharma-college.org

Mangalam Research Center: www.mangalamresearch.org

The Center for Creative Inquiry: www.creativeinquiry.org

Nyingma Institute: www.nyingmainstitute.com

Guna Foundation: www.gunafoundation.org

Dharma Publishing: www.dharmapublishing.com

Nyingma Trust: www.nyingmatrust.org


There is a minimum six-month commitment, with opportunities for long-term involvement.

Learn more: www.mandalatraining.org

Skills

  • Cooking / Catering
  • Social Media / Blogging
  • Event Planning / Management
  • Graphic Design
  • Web Design
  • Sewing

Good Match For

Group

Requirements & Commitment

  • Work 5.5 days a week for a minimum of 6 months
  • You need not be Buddhist, so long as you are open to working and living in a Buddhist community. All
Engage your employees, consumers, or students! VolunteerMatch provides the tools that make community involvement easy.